Read Forward: Adult Learning Assessment — Free online training available

March 28th, 2011 by Monika Jankowska-Pacyna

During March and April 2011, the publishers of Read Forward: Adult Learning Assessment resource will be offering free online training workshops for people interested in how to use it in the field.

Everyone who attends will receive a complimentary copy of the resource.

Developed by The Centre for Foundational Learning at Bow Valley College, Read Forward is a series of easy-to-use adult reading tests referenced to the International Adult Literacy Survey (IALS).

It contains:

  • 30 Tests
  • Answer Keys
  • Locator Tests
  • Results Feedback forms
  • User Guide

These paper-and-pencil tests take one hour or less to write and integrate easily into the curriculum for a variety of programs including literacy, basic education, vocational, essential skills, upgrading, GED, workplace and college.

Visit Read Forward: Adult Learning Assessment blog to learn more.


Available training sessions are scheduled for:

Tuesday March 29, 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm EST (1:30pm – 3:30pm MST)

Tuesday April 5, 6 pm – 8 pm EST (4:00pm – 6:00pm MST)

Wednesday April 6, 3:30 – 5:30 pm EST (1:30pm – 3:30pm MST)

To register for a session, please email readforward@bowvalleycollege.ca with your contact information and preferred date.

These sessions will be offered using Adobe Connect. You will not need special software to participate, but you will need:

  • A computer with reliable internet access
  • Adobe flash installed
  • Speakers
  • Microphone/headset with microphone (optional, but very useful)