Tim Nicholls Harrison – Canada Post’s Literacy Educator Award recipient

September 10th, 2010 by Monika Jankowska-Pacyna

Congratulations to Tim Nicholls Harrison, a longtime literacy instructor and Manager of the Adult Learning Centres, Grey-Bruce-Georgian in Ontario, as well as other award recipients, who on September 3rd, 2010, were honoured with the 2010 Canada Post Literacy Awards.
Tim was among 11 winners in the Educator and Individual categories who came from all parts of Canada – from Quesnel, British Columbia to Petit-Rocher, New Brunswick.

Tim hosting the Transliteracy Conference in June 2010

Tim has been an ardent promoter of literacy for more than 22 years. During this time, Tim has been an active champion in creating and developing several literacy networks. He has held executive positions on many regional networks, including founding member and Chairperson of the local Quality in Lifelong Learning (QUILL) Network.

Tim’s ongoing participation in the Grey Bruce Children’s Alliance has been instrumental in bringing Bridges out of Poverty certification training to fifty staff members from many local community organizations – an initiative that will benefit the Owen Sound region for decades.

In recent years, Tim has focused on developing 21st century learning skills (i.e., Web 2.0 or social media skills) and sharing his knowledge and expertise with students and Literacy and Basic Skills (LBS) practitioners through workshops.

Tim has also developed two successful fundraising activities – the Scrabble for Literacy Tournament and the Novel Marathon for Literacy. These events have raised thousands of dollars for literacy initiatives and have provided the models for other local fundraising events across Ontario.

2010 Community Literacy Awards Winners

Individual Achievement – English

  • Dean Christie, Zealand (NB)
  • Jack Osborne, North Bay (ON)

Individual Achievement – French

  • Liliane Biti, Winnipeg (MB)
  • Francine Bouffard, Châteauguay (QC)

Educator – English

  • Carolyn Reicher, Calgary (AB)
  • Rebecca Beuschel, Quesnel (BC)
  • Jayne Geldart, Darmouth (NS)
  • Tim Nicholls Harrison, Owen Sound (ON)

Educator – French

  • Monique Bouchard, Petit-Rocher (NB)
  • Karen Kavouette, Alma (QC)

This year marks the 17th edition of the Canada Post Community Literacy Awards. It is an initiative started by Canada Post in 1993 to recognize literacy learners and the community-based organizations that support them.